A busy running weekend

Hilly Fields parkrun 21 February 2015

Today instead of running I am taking photographs at Hilly Fields parkrun.

I arrive earlier than anyone else. It feels cold but at least it is not raining.

People arrive in dribs and drabs but it is in the last few minutes that most arrive.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

I try to take some pictures, I work on the principle that if I take enough, some will be good or at least OK.

I see Danny Norman and Libby Marchant and try to take their pictures with Em. Danny is so tall that I ask him to lean down a little. Danny is not feeling a hundred per cent today as can be heard on the Tuesday podcast.

The run starts; it is cold – not wearing my gloves. I stroll around visiting the marshals and taking pictures as and when.

I stand for a while with Siggy at the top of the long hill. The ground here is very muddy and the runners manfully (women too of course) squelch through the morass. It looks tough from behind the camera.

I managed to miss taking pictures of the first two finishers finishing, but worse for them they have not brought their barcodes. Danny Norman et al “DFYB”.

The first female home is Libby Marchant on her first visit to HF.

Runners finish in various states of elation or not. Some PBs, most I think just pleased to finish and have a coffee.

P1010463
The first finisher
P1010489
Bhupinder relaxes after a new PB

A good HF parkrun turn out with 131 runners and 12 hardy volunteers. (More pictures on the photos section HF parkrun page).

………………….

P1010422
Em, Danny N and Libby M
P1010491
Eric and John discuss Greek parkruns?

Brighton Half Marathon 22 February 2015

In the evening (21 February) I met up with the Hilly Field runners, at a pleasant Italian restaurant – most of us eating pasta and not much booze present. Dedicated athletes are we.

The morning of the run, people were arriving in all directions. I wonder where they are all going? In the scrum, I managed to see and talk to Veronica N.

It seemed a long wait for me a non-elite runner, but after ten minutes I was crossing the start line. It was a real learning experience for me as this was my first half. I carried out my plan – get round. Climbing to Rottingdean I saw Glenn and later on Em running down in the opposite direction.

I carried on and up to 10K was doing well I think my best 10K time. After that it got more difficult on the way to Hove and my pace slowed down a  lot. Keep going Andrew, you will never do a half again – this kept me plodding onwards.

It helped meeting Adele (a mile from her finish) me about 6 miles to go. She and I touched gloves as we passed; how strange with all those runners about we just passed like that.

When I got to Hove and could see Brighton pier again I knew I could make it. The mental image that the distance was to my favourite pub and back kept me going.

I walked for a while, well actually quite a while, but kept going. Eventually there was a mile to go and my central governor allowed me to sprint in at 3.1 miles per hour. Yes!

1538502_1401385120169301_1606457779_n
HF celebrate

I enjoyed it really I think and especially having a drink afterwards with the HF gang. -You are all inspirational and great running from all of you.

Leave a Reply

