Lullingstone parkrun the second event

Saturday 18 April 2015 Well this is novel, walking a mile from home to the new parkrun at Lullingstone. I arrive a little early and meet Jason the Run Director. I was planning to walk round the route and take some scenic pictures but instead help set up the course. I start off by breaking the post that holds the sign directing runners to the barcode scanning section; I didn’t break anything else. It’s good walking around the course making sure everything is set up for the runners. We are joined by Ian who walks up to the top wood to put the signs up. Today, I am the Timekeeper and luckily Bryan is here to back me up if operator failure by moi. It is quite cold this morning, standing half way up a steep hill in a cold wind, but gradually runners and volunteers appear. ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. Backrunning. Last week I ran in the inaugural run, with over 100 runners. I thought it was a great course, challenging but enjoyable. I was near the back (I am used to that) but really enjoyed my slowest parkrun. The start is tough, a steep climb for a few minutes, but don’t be put off; there is downhill to recover. I think Lullingstone will become a cult parkrun but will not be a PB parkrun course. …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… A much smaller field today of 36 runners. It was good to see Danny Norman enjoying his 420th parkrun. After the run brief given by Jason (no Hi Viz vest as all used up by the many volunteers) it’s time for parkrun. Bryan starts the runners on their 3.1 mile journey through the Kent countryside. Yes, it is a hilly course but the downhill is good too and the views of Lullingstone Castle and the lavender fields rather good I thought. After about 9 minutes the first runners appear through the wood and start their second circuit. I like calling out times to the runners but not all appreciate this! Soon the first finishers appear and it’s time to concentrate. Runners finish looking pleased and I am very impressed with a young guy who sprints in hard at least 15mph. Really!  I think everyone enjoyed themselves. I did. I enjoy a cup of tea and a sandwich. A very pleasant morning, great atmosphere – happy runners and “voluncheers”!

P1010589
Giles signs off for the week
P1010579
The run briefing by Jason RD (back to camera)
P1010558
Lavender fields starting to flower
P1010561amended
Cat Woods enjoyed the morning

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… Back at Hilly Fields parkrun they tried using pacers and from Twitter and Facebook evidence everyone had a great time with many PBs. ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Leave a Reply

